Tracker Question...

E63S

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
E63S W213
I am getting the dealership to fit a tracker when my new car finally arrives. I have been given two options - Tracker, or Tracker Plus. I have zero knowledge of such things, but I don’t particularly want to pick a duff tracker when I could get a better version for not much more. I’ve been given a PDF copy of the options, and to the untrained eye they look fairly similar. Is it worth paying that bit extra for a “Plus”?

The other query I have is in regard to Thatcham categories. It seems that the most basic theft prevention measures are catergorised as 1, then the more secure features increase up to a cat 7. However, the Tracker Plus is a cat 6, and the standard Tracker is a 7.

I’m confused. Please help.

LostKiwi

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
'93 500SL-32, '01 W210 Estate E240 (RIP), 02 R230 SL500, 04 Smart Roadster Coupe, 11 R350CDi
Personally I wouldn't bother with a Tracker. I'd be looking to stop the car going in the first place so Autowatch Ghost would be top of my list then add a basic chinese tracker as a backup.

Craiglxviii

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
970 Panamera Turbo; W221 S500L AMG Line, C215 CL500, W251 R350L AMG Line, plus several more now gone
Get an Autowatch Ghost from COMAND Online- better than a tracker!!!

Edit- beaten to it!

Rappey69

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
c220 w204 amg sport
I agree with LostKiwi on the chinese tracker.. I paid under £20 for the unit which is waterproof, connects to power and acc.
You can geo fence it so it texts your phone and rings it if the tracker moves out of the geo fence zone, and if the power is turned on it also alerts you.
You get a link to a website to track your tracker, and a £10 payg sim which last for ages

Ken_R

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
W203 2006 C230 Estate
I've not been involved with Tracker, in any form, for a great number of years.