Micro blisters help please

Jillclethero

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
SLK250 Amg sport 2014
Hi there, I’m a newbie here, hoping someone might be able to help. We purchased a slk250 2014 secondhand 18 months ago. It’s our retirement treat and husbands pride and joy.In great condition from a private dealer, we wanted to keep it that way, so they advised us to have a Williams ceramic coating put on which they did before we collected it. We were very impressed with the independent high end dealer, and have no reason to mistrust them. However we now have micro blisters appearing all over. We’ve sent them photos (they are couple hundred miles away) and they have suggested we take it to Mercedes as it will be covered by anti corrosion guarantees. We haven’t done any more yet, but wondered if the guarantee will be negated by the coating? Any help please, forewarned is forearmed!

Attachments

• 5AD0C6D6-3327-4EBA-BAB6-370905B0042E.jpeg
    5AD0C6D6-3327-4EBA-BAB6-370905B0042E.jpeg
    249.7 KB · Views: 38

LostKiwi

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
'93 500SL-32, '01 W210 Estate E240 (RIP), 02 R230 SL500, 04 Smart Roadster Coupe, 11 R350CDi
Micro blisters are a common problem on Fire Opal Red cars sadly. Take it to MB and get them to look at it. They will be well aware of the issues. Don't even mention the ceramic coating as its just a highend polish/sealer so not relevant except in as much as it gives them something to use to wriggle out of it.

Frontstep

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
T210 320cdi
That's a bit odd, its fire opal isn't it heard of a few cars with the problem must be google-able I just wouldn't mention the coating as MB will use any excuse they can think of.

Craiglxviii

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
970 Panamera Turbo; W221 S500L AMG Line, C215 CL500, W251 R350L AMG Line, plus several more now gone