First time user of Clay - It's a revelation

McDonald

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
SL500 2004
After reading and re-reading every page on the subject of detailing, I finally applied the Bilt Hamber clay to my car. I wasn't fully prepared for the effect. I could see tiny marks just vanishing. I'd washed and polished (Dodo Juice Lime Prime) last weekend, but today I washed the car again, clayed, polished again as before and got the first coat of wax on. I ended up using a Dodo Juice polish that is specifically marketed for light coloured cars. I'm just delighted with the effect.

I started at 6.20am, so that the sun wouldn't be beating down too fiercely, and spent three hours at it. I'll probably be up early again tomorrow to get another coat of wax on there. It just so rewarding to see the car looking it's best.

Thanks for all the shared knowledge. I've been cleaning cars for 40 years and I've finally learned how to do it properly.

rorywquin

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
An old B-Class.
I use a clay mitt - never used actual clay but the mitt was great on my wife's car and also makes life a lot easier removing light water marks.

DREAMER NO2

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
W124 2.6E M103 1989
Mac Donald i understand the clay part,, but what wax did you use .I to have been cleaning cars of my own for as many years just like you , and i am ready to try this new way of waxing them.To see if its any better than my way.

OP
McDonald

McDonald

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
SL500 2004
Hello Dreamer No2, the wax is Dodo Juice Light Fantastic. I've just been out to gaze at the car again and have now taken to stroking it. The paintwork feels so smooth. I will put on another coat of wax early tomorrow, mostly to ensure I haven't missed anywhere. I can't believe it'll shine any brighter. My car is 14 yrs old and soon will pass the 50,000 miles mark but it doesn't look like it. They're beautiful cars anyway, but gleaming shine definitely helps.

Msb

Reaction score
Your Mercedes