Cheap winter tyres/winter alloys&tyres

Cgd

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
C220/16/2.1
Dear all

I must confess I’m a total MB newbie

First ever, went for a C220 bluetec, 2.1, SE, 2016, I believe this is a W205

Living up in Scotland we survived last winter, just, and we did get stranded for a week till car was able to cope with the worst of winter

Given that I regularly travel that far north I’m considering winter tyres (had them before in a FWD and it was blissful in winter). Few questions, If you could please entertain me with your experience:

-any experience with Jinyu or sunny winter tyres?

-cheapest alloys for a w205 That fit 225/50/17? (Trying to avoid changing rubber twice a year and save my original alloys from winter) found some “alutec grip” in mytyres.co.uk for about £100 each (plus £10 each for the TPS)

I drive Michelin’s but they are sincerely hopeless in the snow and the threads are at least 5mm, so wondering whether biting the bullet of buying a full winter alloy/budget tyre is cheaper over three years

Thanks in advance!

Blobcat

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
R171 SLK280, Smart R451, Land Rover 110 County SW, 997 C2S, R1250 GSA TE 40th, CBR600FP
Mytyres is where is get mine, the later you leave it the more expensive I find they become. I bought mine in August and will probably fit them next money as it’s just too hot at the moment. With winter tyres they’re great, without don’t even bother...

Chrishazle

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
S204 2008 C220CDI Elegance Estate Auto, 2008 R171 Facelift SLK280
In the long run cheaper and easier to buy a second set of rims and tyres, as it will cost you about £40 every 6 months to change tyres on the same set of rims, plus there is always the possibility of the fitter damaging your rims. I bought a set of 16's for my S204, immaculate and with winter tyres, off Ebay for less than £300!

LostKiwi

Reaction score
Your Mercedes