A Class making a slight rattle noise on start up, goes away after 2 miles

area51

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Year2000 A160
more money than sense then pal , no A class bar the 45 AMG warrants such a high performance oil , its no better for the car

I got into the habit of using Mobil1 when I had a 16v Golf GTI. I have worked in the motor trade for 40 years and have seen what poor quality/incorrect oil can do to an engine. I get a very good discount on the oil and intend to keep my car for a while yet (Rightly or wrongly, I like it a lot).

OP
Submariner1

Submariner1

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
CL500 2009 5.5
I got into the habit of using Mobil1 when I had a 16v Golf GTI. I have worked in the motor trade for 40 years and have seen what poor quality/incorrect oil can do to an engine. I get a very good discount on the oil and intend to keep my car for a while yet (Rightly or wrongly, I like it a lot).

I am no expert but I even use it on my Honda Proffessional lawn mower. Wtf!
Why ...
Well the official annual service cost is £278! ... I noticed by using Mobil 1. The oil stays super clean .. note it has no filter. So I just change it 3 times a year. Takes 5 mins. And total cost £24 in oil per year.
Never had its official annual service.
And the engine tappets settings, that is specified to adjust annually; has never changed since 2008, and the same on Mothers 1991 Honda!
Whether this is contributing to keeping the tappets perfect by zero wear, who knows or cares!
I’ll be dammed if I am going to pay £278 for a service on a flipping lawnmower. The rest of the maintenance is just greasing cables and the drive joints etc. And I change the Hydrostatic drive fluid every 4 years.

Another tip!
Apparently you officially need to dechoke the head every other year. ( Obviously based on reccomendations for contract gardeners).