Search results

1. H

Looking for help with 1992 190e 1.8 buying tips

Find a nice one and input some energy into preventive maintenance you can run one as a daily even now. They drive like a far newer car. I had been using mine a second car / runaround for nearly 15 years until ULEZ got extended to nearby (replaced it with a Smart). Keeping it as a nostalgic toy...
  2. H

Juratek brake discs/pads

Apparently their discs are made in the UK. Even most of the usual German brands seem to be made in China, India etc now. I might give the discs a go next. I’m too fussy about pads to make a change though.
  3. H

Ulze

Hmmm. Those will highly likely be next on the hit list and the depreciation they will suffer could be eye watering. Notice they started linking it to the “climate emergency” in recent propaganda so expect them to switch tack and target CO2 next. I might well be a vulture and snap up a distress...
  4. H

Anti roll bar link ??

Heavy car that’s expected to ride & handle well = an array of control arms with soft rubber bushings which need changing routinely. It’s exactly the same on a Lexus.
  5. H

Anti roll bar link ??

Lemforder will probably last longer but at least the drop links are easy to DIY and don’t affect the alignment.
  6. H

W209 CLK270 CDI P0123 error - with car not starting

Fantastic post above. I will add I replaced the crank sensor on mine when it started intermittently having trouble starting when hot (pig of a job - garage did it). I replaced cam sensor myself at same time because it takes less than a minute. The crank sensor threw an EML & codes. Replaced...
  7. H

ULEZ Consultation

I thought the latest strategy was to abandon weapons in their front garden?
  8. H

Buying a used E class w212