1972 350 sl

Status
Not open for further replies.

DAWSON

Reaction score
I SOLD A 1972 MERCEDES 350 SL.  THE TITLE SAYS 350SL BUT THE PERSON WHO BOUGHT IT SAYS IT IS A 450 SL AND WANTS MONEY BACK.  I HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT WHEN THE 450 CAME OVER FROM GERMANY 350 WAS PUT ON TITLE CAN ANYONE HELP ME?

Spike

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
1999 SL500
I am not a lawyer and to be on the safe side, I think you are best getting a 15 minute consultation with a lawyer.......

but I do  think there is very little protection offered to buyers buying privately. I would suggest that all the new owner could do was take you to a small claims court (depending on the monies involved) and try to sue you for the money he has lost. (mitigation being the key).

What I am not sure of is the difference in value between the two models. Is a 350 more valuable? I would have thought the opposite.

Could it be that the "350SL" is made up of two different cars? If so, I can understand his reason for wanting his money back.

How did you sell the vehicle, Was the purchaser given full opportunity to inspect the vehicle first. Did you get a receipt saying "Sold as Seen"? Was the documentation in order?

Do get some professional advice but meanwhile, I will leave you with the old saying...

*LET THE BUYER BEWARE*

Guy

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
S212 Estate 2010 Brabus D6 350CDI
You are right, don't worry.
In 1972 there was a 350SL with a 450 engine, and a 280SE.

Guy

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
S212 Estate 2010 Brabus D6 350CDI
Just to reassure you -
You can check it out via many websites, just type 1972 350SL into the 'Google' search engine. Lots of references.
Here's one - click on it and check the engine reference -
http://www.alldata.com/TSB/723580_en.html

MarkSL

Reaction score
Surely the engine size was on the paperwork!  Didn't he look at it at all ?  If it was originally a 4.5 from the factory then I cant see what sort of claim he could have.

You should be able to find out from MB anyway,