400SL advice

Jim Agar

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
400Sl nearly!
Hi all, newbie here. Age and ill health necessitates selling my beloved 1978 Alfa Spider 2000,owned by me since '85(plus Mrs A can't stand it!). Plan is to buy a new or newish luxo-barge of a 400SL.
Mrs A loved a year old one we've seen in Bromley but at just over £50k in poverty spec not sure of the value as Drive the deal are offering basic car new at less than £55k or £57k with the essential options( neck scarf,HK, reverse cam,electric wind deflector, cup holder,few other minor ones).
Any advice on problems,spec etc welcome. Thanks in advance.

carnut13

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
R231 SL400 & Audi A1 Sport
The 400sl is a lovely GT car. I bought mine new under £57k with extras hk ,airscarf,Pano roof,AMG upgraded wheels, ambiant light, colour I wanted etc
Go for the new one with the extras you really want. A very good discount should be available especially in the current new car market doldrums
Enjoy!

John Laidlaw

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Land Rover Discovery 4
^ that’s a good find and has something that I wished my SL had but didn’t which was the vented seats!
If I get another SL that would be higher priority for me than say..distronic for example

JBell

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
C350 CDi Estate (GAD Edition)
^ that’s a good find and has something that I wished my SL had but didn’t which was the vented seats!

One must look after ones bottom

£7k+ a year depreciation!!!!! over £1 a mile in running costs so far

carnut13

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
R231 SL400 & Audi A1 Sport
I make that depreciation £20k in the year if you bought a year old one at ,£55k as the op started at

OP
J

Jim Agar

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
400Sl nearly!
Thanks for all your replies, just had email from CarWow with best offer from M-B Cardiff of £78.800 list(8) options, down to £55,700 a 29.2% discount. Really must be tricky times selling these but happy days if you're in the market and know where to look.