Advice needed - C320 CDI

hoopyfrood

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
W210 E300 CDi 1998
Evening guys and gals,

Apologies if this is in the wrong place but I need a few pointers please on a car I'm looking at purchasing....namely a C320 CDi on an 05 plate at 135k miles...

I'm in need of a motor that's going to be bullet proof, last a lot of miles and keep me entertained, all with a reasonable fuel bill and this motor has just floated across my radar.

Originally (and tomorrow) I was/am looking 530d and they offer me a few advantages, namely I've owned 4 before an kinda know what I'm looking for....I can't though say the same here so questions....

1) I can dial into the OBD on a 530 and it tells me things regarding servicing and the DPF, can't seem to do that on the C320 so...How long does the DPF last? Est cost?

2) To keep costs down I plan on doing a lot of service and basic works myself, I have basic knowledge and experience but is the servicing straightforward or unadvisable for something with good mechanical knowledge.

3) Reliability? It's been pretty well kept till now by independent garages and at 135k I suspect it's now wanted for much. I had an old E-class which was utter dire. Have they improved much?

4) What do I need to be looking for with this particular model? Anything specific?

5) Diagnostic tools? What does anyone recommend and how much?

I know I'm asking a lot but I want to be doubly sure on this car, the warranty on offer isn't up to much (£500 max insurance claim) and I would like to avoid any "interesting surprises" after I've bought it...

Any help greatly appreciated.

SortedE320

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2008 W211 E320CDI SPORT 7-G WAGON & 1998 R170
Just had a rear wiper motor die on mine, which shouldn't really happen at 6-years-old; but other than it has been very reliable in terms of turn the key and GTF.