Anyone online for quick buying advice from the experts?

tom1981

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
SLK/2002/200k
Hi,

You guys have been the oracle when it comes to researching buying an old R170

I've found a 200k manual 6 speed 2002 special edition with 74,000 miles from a dealer. He's doing a new MOT and dealing with a tiny bit of badly treated bubbling.

Checked the jack tubes for rust and the arches are clean, the boot carpet and footwell are dry and I can't see blockages in the drainage holes both ends.

Last full service was 18 months ago and it's only done 2k since. Black leather interior etc. Interior looks good.

So three little flag up problems are the ABS brakes NOT the discs but the brakes you can see through the alloy spokes have a fair amount of corrosion on them although driving it they feel good. Is that a no-no? (I'm a real second hand novice)

The other two are is a slight creak on the back window anything to worry about at motorway speeds? Also this bit tiny of bubbling (picture attached) which he said he would get sorted properly with new MOT.

He was asking £3495, have talked him down by quoting other cars I was going to look at to £2900. Wanted to run these 3 things past wiser men and women than me?

Any thoughts? Thanks as ever! Tom

DQuecb

https://flic.kr/p/DkdMhn

OP
T

tom1981

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
SLK/2002/200k
Picture of bubbling - what you guys think?

DQuecb

robparker

Authorised Forum Supporter
Reaction score
Your Mercedes
220d (115), 190d (201), c63 (204), 220ce (124)
Non of those things would particularly worry me.. if you were that bothered about the calipers im sure you could change all four for about £200 plus fitting.
Its not exactly a cheap price (I dont see low miles as a good thing worth paying for).. but if you are planning to keep for a long time i guess the price doesnt matter too much.

OP
T

tom1981

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
SLK/2002/200k