C230 Kompressor engine stalls... need help!!!

hainesZ

Reaction score
hi there guyz n girlz if there is any here... i am new to the mercedes motors as ive always been a vauxhall man... but i decided to get myself a 1996 C230 Kompressor, i picked it up on monday morning of this week and had no problems up untill today when i decided to replace the blown bulbs on the instrament panel, so i looked it up in the trusted haynes maual and followed the instuctions and it seemed to all be well, but when i reconnected the battery the coolant level indicator light stays lit up ( even though it is full ) and worse of all when i drive it it runs ok, but when i come to stop at lights or junctions it stalls on me but it will tick over ok when stationary... i am stumped... i dont have a clue to what could have caused this but it seems it all happened since i disconnected the battery,
i phoned technical advice at watford mercedes and the technition said the airflow meter might have lost its memory and to try keeping at 2000 rpm for a short period to see if that will sort it, but it did nothing, so he sugested turning the steering full lock both ways with the engine running as it might be somthing to do with the esp... i tried this but no change... he then said id have to bring it in for dianostics, but it wont be cheap... so if anybody has any ideas i would be most appriecated... thanks...

jibcl500

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
CL500,ML55,SLK280
sounds like the air flow meter has failed, check the running voltage on your battery first to make sure its at 13.5++++ volts, if its ok then replace the MAF, if its failed with the engine running unplug it, a few seconds later the engine will stall.

jib

BlackC55

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
C43
Leave the ignition on for 30-40 seconds to reset the throttle flap.

Then turn off and then re-start. That may sort it.

OP
H

hainesZ

Reaction score