Churchill Insurance

D

denny

Hi Folks

Newbie here, just joined today after collecting my 09-reg CLK 350 Sport Cabriolet at the beginning of last week. I haven't had too many chances to drive it yet but first impressions are good - can't wait to give it a good try out on a fast run.

I ran an 53-plate E270 CDi Avantegarde estate as my previous car, a really solid performer, bags of space and plenty of power on tap, especially since I replaced the turbo at 115K after it collapsed.

Anyway, I had the E270 insured with Churchill and because I was only 4 months into my policy year I asked them to substitute the CLK for the E270 and let me know the difference.

Firstly, I was quite surprised at the premium increase although checking around it still worked out cheaper to pay them the extra than cancel and go elsewhere for a brand new policy. However, the really annoying part was that they refused to proved theft cover until I had an "approved" tracking device fitted. It took me 8 days to get the tracker fitted (I got a Tracker Monitor fitted which I've had before on other convertibles) which was done this last Thursday. As you will no doubt appreciate, I have had a slightly nervous time waiting for the tracker to be fitted in order I can get the full theft cover applying. BUT, and this is the annoying bit, they won't provide the cover until they have seen proof of installation. I sent this off by snail-mail and fax (because they don't do scanned attachments by email) on Thursday and asked them to send me an email or give me a call to confirm cover is okay. Guess what, no response.

Okay, it's only Sunday and the postman might bring their confirmation in the mail tomorrow but it bugs me that these people seem only concerned about getting their premium in and don't really provide a tailored customer service. I wouldn't mind waiting a week or so for an unimportant item from them but in the situation I'm in I really felt they should have responded to me straight away.