1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Door locks cycle whenever I accelerate??

Discussion in 'Introduce yourself' started by gioiaart, May 19, 2017.

1. gioiaart

gioiaart New Member

Your Mercedes:
    1998 ml 320
    Hello there,
    I am new to this ML 320 1998 . I bought it with a problem with the door locks (heard it was common). Whenever I accelerate the doors lock. Making a vacuum type noice through the car. The front control panel locks all the doors but the driver (needs key) and back hatch. Both needs to be locked manually.
    Any idea what could be the problem? It's quite annoying., thank you so much

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. LostKiwi

LostKiwi Senior Member

Your Mercedes:
    '93 500SL-32, '01 W210 Estate E240, 04 Smart Roadster Coupe
    Not quite clear here - do you mean every time you accelerate or just the first time after you get in?
    Any lock that's not working could have a bad creator (in the door) or a bad vacuum hose.

gioiaart likes this.
  3. OP
    gioiaart

gioiaart New Member

Your Mercedes:
    1998 ml 320
    Every time I leave stop light or stop sign the door locks cycle trying to close. It sounds like a vacuum issue. The hatch does not work by center console. It needs to be locked by hand. Although I find it unlocked often??
    The driver side door actuator I think is bad. Could that affect all doors. It's so annoying to hear all the time.

4. davemercedes

davemercedes Senior Member

Your Mercedes:
    2007 Merc 220 CDi Est Auto Av
    My 2007 C Estate locks automatically as soon as I drive away - it can be unlocked and re-locked via a button on the dashboard.
    - I think the ML should do the same but if you have actuator fault(s) it's very difficult to know what's happening.