Grunt noise when breaking or releasing break

ajayboy

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
E 220 SE 65 Plate
Hi

Just signed up for my first ( after been on a watcher for many years) Merc E Class 220 SE with 65 plate after test drive, has 7500 miles and registered in Jan 66, When I test drove it all was good except that when i put my foot on the break or moved the foot away it made a sort of grunt sound that passengers in the back seat could also hear and notice

I asked the sales person who said it was how these breaks are in Merc E class as they are hydraulic. I am not an expert in these things to went along with the car dealers explanation. We sat in another similar car and he pressed on the break and it did have that sort of sound

Family liked the car so we bought it also as the car has Merc warranty for 2 year we thought if there is any issue it will be covered.

Car gets delivered tomorrow but just wanted to check with experienced people here if the sound is normal due to hydraulic break and if not what options I have

Thanks in advance

L John

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
W204 C350 Petrol Elegance
Wow, hydraulic brakes. Must be a new thing :rolleyes:

No, it's not normal.

gizze

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
5 Series Touring + 911 Carrera 4
Wow, hydraulic brakes. Must be a new thing :rolleyes:

No, it's not normal.

Haha.

I heard about these new fangled hydraulic brakes, they were released on the Model A Duesenberg I think.
That was 1918 and 99.9999% of cars have had them since.
The sales guy should go back to selling fax machines.

No, not normal, get them to sort it before you get the car delivered. Seriously!

If you take delivery and then it can't be sorted they will make all sorts of excuses. Rejecting a car is very hard, not accepting one that has not been sorted is much easier.

umblecumbuz

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
S204 and CLC 204 cdi, MX5, Kia Soul