Improve 'exhaust note' on my 2010 E500 A207

harrye500

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2017 W213 OM654 E220 Estate (the main driver) and 2010 A207 E500 (now 'the Summer Car')
Hello to all. Appreciate a bit of advice from more experianced folk! Now I'm no expert on exhausts, so I hope there might be some general thoughts or advice out there on how to improve the sound to give it a more 'gruff', louder note.

I've had my E since December and that's long enough to know I will be keeping it for a long time. It is a super car.

But, it has a disappointing exhaust note from what is a pretty sweet sounding engine generally. Is there anything I can do to 'upgrade' the sound without replacing the entire system? Not replacing is nothing to do with cost (appreciate that no Mercedes upgrade or part is cheap), but the exhaust is perfectly good, just a bit 'muffled' and underwhelming so changing it seems a bit overkill to me.

I've heard a (I think it was an E63) cornering / passing me, lets say 'at speed' and he left a very satisfying V8 burble as he went by! So from that, I'd say I'd be happy with a std / 'stock' sound such as the 63, nothing too outrageous (+ I am 43 all said and done so no hot hatch kid)!! Not too fussed about increasing BHP or Torque (though wouldn't want to loose any torque if it can be helped), I think 388BHP is quite enough for most!

I'm looking at upgrade / improvement options first, without venturing too much into custom Stainless territory at this point, where I gather its a whole other ball game!