Pre-Safe Inoperative See Owners Manual - Command line shutting down

malyka

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
C-Class/2010/C200 Diesel
Hi fellow Merc owners and experts.

Disclaimer I'm new here as I'm a newbie owner of a Merc after owning VWs. I have a lot of experience with those and diagnose, service and repair them myself. As such, I'm already working on getting myself a MB STAR Xentry kit as I've learnt that owning my own diagnostic is invaluable, especially if you can self repair.

Issue I'm getting is the error message: 'Pre Safe Inoperative See Owners Manual' shortly after starting the car, or turning on the ignition - The car radio turns on and sat flips open, then after a few seconds, no more that a minute, the message shows on the satnav display: "Command line shutting down' flickers and few times then the sat/nav flips back closed and the radio turns off. The Air con fans are limited and the seat heaters cannot be turned on.

Now the history is that I bought this car and parked for a few months because I didn't nee to use it at the time so the battery went dead. I didn't really test the car when I bought as it was from a friend(I know, schoolboy error) so I don't know if this car has always had this issue. So anyway I recharged the original battery and fitted it in and started the car ok but car kept going into this pre-safe mode.