squeaky brakes w202

merclover79

Reaction score
i have a w202 estate 250td that needed rear pads changed, i changed them with genuine merc parts and after about ten miles there was a really bad squeak when braking. i have re fitted them with loads of anti squeel grease and even tried another make of brake pads but the noise is still there.

i heard a very similar noise the other day when out walking and turned round to see another w202 braking with the same noise.

i have been a mechanic for about 15 years and have never had this problem before on any car is this a common problem?

any help will be greatfully recieved.:-?

television

Always remembered RIP
Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2002 SL500, 216 CL500, all fully loaded
Its often just the glaze on the disc, and it will go away after a few miles once the have bedded in all over

OP
M

merclover79

Reaction score
noisy brakes

ive prob done about 400 miles and the noise is no better.

television

Always remembered RIP
Reaction score
Your Mercedes
This is in this months trade press
Save0003.jpg

OP
M

merclover79

Reaction score
think i'll try discs then. thank you for your help.

philharve

Reaction score
Website
go.to
Your Mercedes
W202 C230K Auto 2000
Squealing brakes is abnormal

Hi merclover79

I had new discs & pads fitted about 3 weeks ago on my 202 and they have never squealed. Squealing is abnormal and, as Malcolm points out, the cause is often elsewhere.

REGARDS

Phil

television

Always remembered RIP
Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Perhaps I can explain what squeaking is caused by.