Virgin Merc Owner.

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
CLK230 Kompressor 2002 2295cc
High all.

I am new to Mercedes ownership. I own a CLK230 Kompressor 2002. Lovely car to drive and be part of. Can't think why I didn't go for it sooner. It maybe because it was out of my pocket range. But, I have one and love it to the point of naming her. Yes, I named her Matilda. After the film, because the car moves me and is magical. It's awesome.

But I have a small issue which I'll start a new thread for. Mainly starting or lack of engine cranking when key is turned. No codes, Battery new in fobs, 12.2v on car battery.

Anyways, nice to join and be part of the Merc Club.

OP
A
Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Hi and welcome.
Presumably both keys?
If you shake the key does it rattle?

Have checked that issue. The car was running fine I returned to the car after I had a nice cooked breakfast in my local food spot. I returned to the car, key in ignition, turned key and no cranking.

LostKiwi

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
'93 500SL-32, '01 W210 Estate E240 (RIP), 02 R230 SL500, 04 Smart Roadster Coupe, 11 R350CDi
Have checked that issue. The car was running fine I returned to the car after I had a nice cooked breakfast in my local food spot. I returned to the car, key in ignition, turned key and no cranking.
When you put the key in was there a click as it went in?

OP
A
Reaction score
Your Mercedes
The key does all the normal things, activate the fuel pump, I hear it buzzing and relays clicking, it just won't turn over the engine.

LostKiwi

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
'93 500SL-32, '01 W210 Estate E240 (RIP), 02 R230 SL500, 04 Smart Roadster Coupe, 11 R350CDi
Sounds like either there is a wire off the starter solenoid, the starter solenoid has failed or the engine start relay K40 has failed.
Not uncommon for the relay to fail.

KennyN

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
BMW 440i, Cayenne, ZX12r / ZRX11 / ZRX Monoshock
It it in park ?

Kenny

OP
A
Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Here's how it is.