Mercedes-Benz Owners' Forums  

Go Back   Mercedes-Benz Owners' Forums > Technical > Suspension, Steering & Brakes
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61  
Old 12-01-2017, 09:55 AM
DREAMER NO2's Avatar
DREAMER NO2 DREAMER NO2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Kidderminster in Worcestershire
Car: W124 2.6E M103
Posts: 1,337
Default

Craig you never felt that did you ?
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 12-01-2017, 10:18 AM
Craiglxviii Craiglxviii is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambs UK
Car: W215 CL500 Garage Queen; W212 E220 AMG Night Edition; W211 E320 Avantgarde Estate Designo Edition
Posts: 5,532
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DREAMER NO2 View Post
Craig you never felt that did you ?
You've got to push harder chap, that one didn't even touch the sides!
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 12-01-2017, 10:22 AM
G style G style is offline
Senior Member
Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Stockport
Car: S Class 2006 320CDI
Posts: 140
Default

Been trying to find the rear level sensor rod thing.....can't even see but then again im only able to get the mercedes jack under it and its nit doing so well at getting the car up which sude is it on anyone know?
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 12-01-2017, 11:00 AM
Cole@MBS's Avatar
Cole@MBS Cole@MBS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hedge End, Southampton
Car: 124 300 CE 24 Coupe, 209 240 CLK
Posts: 12,776
Default

N/s on the anti roll bar!
__________________
M.B.S
Mercedes Benz Specialist
Star Diagnostics / Servicing, Brakes, Repairs
Woolston, Southampton. Tel: 02380 445820
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 12-01-2017, 02:46 PM
G style G style is offline
Senior Member
Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Stockport
Car: S Class 2006 320CDI
Posts: 140
Default

Just thinking oit loud could i disconnecte the air pipe from the compressor and then put the end of the pipe into the air hose from my compressor in the garage and very slowly put air in from there and see if the car rises and then see if that sheds any light on anything?
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 12-01-2017, 03:17 PM
Craiglxviii Craiglxviii is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambs UK
Car: W215 CL500 Garage Queen; W212 E220 AMG Night Edition; W211 E320 Avantgarde Estate Designo Edition
Posts: 5,532
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G style View Post
Just thinking oit loud could i disconnecte the air pipe from the compressor and then put the end of the pipe into the air hose from my compressor in the garage and very slowly put air in from there and see if the car rises and then see if that sheds any light on anything?
Does your compressor put out the same pressure as the car's Airmatic compressor? If not, it won't work.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 12-01-2017, 03:51 PM
G style G style is offline
Senior Member
Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Stockport
Car: S Class 2006 320CDI
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craiglxviii View Post
Does your compressor put out the same pressure as the car's Airmatic compressor? If not, it won't work.
Its a garage compressor for tools and the like....Jst thought that if i take it nice and slow it mite pump the bags up? Like i said just thinking out loud and trying to get the back end up so i can check sensor and the like.....plus try and get some axel stands under it.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 12-01-2017, 04:09 PM
Craiglxviii Craiglxviii is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambs UK
Car: W215 CL500 Garage Queen; W212 E220 AMG Night Edition; W211 E320 Avantgarde Estate Designo Edition
Posts: 5,532
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G style View Post
Its a garage compressor for tools and the like....Jst thought that if i take it nice and slow it mite pump the bags up? Like i said just thinking out loud and trying to get the back end up so i can check sensor and the like.....plus try and get some axel stands under it.
It all depends what the pressure output of your compressor is vs the output of the one in the car (e.g. what system pressure is required to raise the car).

OK quick check on the W220, it operates at between 189-232psi. So what will your garage compressor put out? If it's in that range and you can join an airline to the central reservoir, then your idea should work.

From what I've just read though, changing the compressor is not difficult.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 12-01-2017, 04:24 PM
G style G style is offline
Senior Member
Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Stockport
Car: S Class 2006 320CDI
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craiglxviii View Post
It all depends what the pressure output of your compressor is vs the output of the one in the car (e.g. what system pressure is required to raise the car).

OK quick check on the W220, it operates at between 189-232psi. So what will your garage compressor put out? If it's in that range and you can join an airline to the central reservoir, then your idea should work.

From what I've just read though, changing the compressor is not difficult.
Yeah it looks like three bolts and a few electrical plugs plus the air pipes.....are the pumps for w220 same as the w221 then? Just wanted to check it all to see if i could find the fault before i start just replacing parts. Going to get the pump off and get some voltage to it see if it runs or not.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 12-01-2017, 04:26 PM
Craiglxviii Craiglxviii is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambs UK
Car: W215 CL500 Garage Queen; W212 E220 AMG Night Edition; W211 E320 Avantgarde Estate Designo Edition
Posts: 5,532
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G style View Post
Yeah it looks like three bolts and a few electrical plugs plus the air pipes.....are the pumps for w220 same as the w221 then? Just wanted to check it all to see if i could find the fault before i start just replacing parts. Going to get the pump off and get some voltage to it see if it runs or not.
Ah, I know nothing about Airmatic at all other than some quick Googling, sorry. You'll need to ask one of the Indies.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I take fitted tyres back? Kylinski Motoring Related Discussion 30 10-08-2013 10:21 AM
Noisy Back End on 300TE 1988 mark0803 Engine, Drivetrain, Fuel and Exhaust 3 23-11-2006 12:02 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.