Mercedes-Benz Owners' Forums  

 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-08-2015, 09:45 PM
alexanderfoti's Avatar
alexanderfoti alexanderfoti is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: West London
Car: W221 S65 AMG, C203 220 CDI
Posts: 7,570
Default Check oil level with no disptick

So I did an oil change on the R230 the other day.

I cannot in any way, shape or form, get the stupid dyno mode/oil level screen to show up on the dash.

Key on, reset button 3 times whilst on odo/temp screen, no beep nothing.

This engine has no dipstick, only the cap, so I thought, AHA, I Will get star on it, and that will show me the oil level.

It does show me the oil level......... in MM!!! What use is that!!!

Is there anyway for me to check the oil level on this car?
__________________
Alexander Foti
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-08-2015, 09:53 PM
star's Avatar
star star is offline
Authorised Forum Supporter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Reading
Car: Smart + others :)
Posts: 4,272
Default

It shows in mm and there should be a spec range next to it.
__________________
Star Motor Service Ltd
Mercedes Specialist In Reading
0118 9462750

www.Starmotorservices.com
www.Starmotorservices.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-08-2015, 09:55 PM
alexanderfoti's Avatar
alexanderfoti alexanderfoti is offline
Moderator
Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: West London
Car: W221 S65 AMG, C203 220 CDI
Posts: 7,570
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by star View Post
It shows in mm and there should be a spec range next to it.
Just found that in DAS Sim on my indoor computer, on my Xentry laptop it didn't show a range next to it at the time!

I put in 7.4 L, WIS shows oil fill with filter at 7.5 so its got to be in the right range anyway. Dash says oil level "OK" (thanks!)

I assume the range represents the dipstick, so near the top end of the range is ideal for next time?
__________________
Alexander Foti
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-08-2015, 09:55 PM
television's Avatar
television television is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Daventry
Car: 2002 SL500, 216 CL500, all fully loaded
Posts: 163,814
Default

1. Insert key into ignition and switch to position “1”
2. Press menu button or until the main mileage display is shown.
3. Press reset button R (1) and hold for 3 seconds.
4. The message "DO YOU WANT TO RESET THE SERVICE INTERVAL? “CONFIRM WITH R BUTTON” displays.
5. Press button R (1) again.
6. Switch off ignition and remove the key.
__________________
Malcolm

Don't worry, it only seems kinky the first time
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-08-2015, 09:57 PM
alexanderfoti's Avatar
alexanderfoti alexanderfoti is offline
Moderator
Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: West London
Car: W221 S65 AMG, C203 220 CDI
Posts: 7,570
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by television View Post
1. Insert key into ignition and switch to position “1”
2. Press menu button or until the main mileage display is shown.
3. Press reset button R (1) and hold for 3 seconds.
4. The message "DO YOU WANT TO RESET THE SERVICE INTERVAL? “CONFIRM WITH R BUTTON” displays.
5. Press button R (1) again.
6. Switch off ignition and remove the key.
That's for resetting the service interval, I'm looking for the oil level display in Liters.

However, now you mention that, I couldn't get that to work either, I had to go into ICM via STAR and input the service that way.
__________________
Alexander Foti
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-08-2015, 10:04 PM
television's Avatar
television television is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Daventry
Car: 2002 SL500, 216 CL500, all fully loaded
Posts: 163,814
Default

I think I will go to bed Alex
__________________
Malcolm

Don't worry, it only seems kinky the first time
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to television For This Useful Post:
alexanderfoti (04-08-2015)
  #7  
Old 04-08-2015, 10:29 PM
alexanderfoti's Avatar
alexanderfoti alexanderfoti is offline
Moderator
Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: West London
Car: W221 S65 AMG, C203 220 CDI
Posts: 7,570
Default

Hehe

Sent from my HTC One M9 using Tapatalk
__________________
Alexander Foti
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-08-2015, 06:35 AM
V6Matty V6Matty is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Newark, Notts
Car: Peugeot 508 RXH (His) W169/2005/A180 (Hers)
Posts: 4,383
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by television View Post
I think I will go to bed Alex
We forgive you Malcolm, we all know your heard if full of you old 230 now
__________________
Please donate to a good cause
https://www.justgiving.com/alzheimerssoc

Matt
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to V6Matty For This Useful Post:
John Laidlaw (05-08-2015), television (05-08-2015)
  #9  
Old 05-08-2015, 09:07 AM
AMGeed's Avatar
AMGeed AMGeed is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poole, Dorset
Car: 2004 E55K ///AMG
Posts: 2,898
Default

Alex, I had a similar problem at my last service at MBS. Colin did the oil change, put in the 8.5 litres but couldn't get the level to come up on the display.
In the end, he had to re-programme the feature back with star as he said at some point it had been coded out.
__________________
[SIGPIC]Secondary cats & resonator deleted x-pipe fitted. Carbon diffuser. Lowering links.

At some point in life, everyone has gambled on a fart and lost.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AMGeed For This Useful Post:
television (05-08-2015)
  #10  
Old 05-08-2015, 11:45 AM
alexanderfoti's Avatar
alexanderfoti alexanderfoti is offline
Moderator
Threadstarter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: West London
Car: W221 S65 AMG, C203 220 CDI
Posts: 7,570
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMGeed View Post
Alex, I had a similar problem at my last service at MBS. Colin did the oil change, put in the 8.5 litres but couldn't get the level to come up on the display.
In the end, he had to re-programme the feature back with star as he said at some point it had been coded out.
Its funny you say that, I have heard another Indy mention that I may need to re-code the cluster.

I will look further into that option!
Thanks
__________________
Alexander Foti
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oil labelling explained oilman Engine, Drivetrain, Fuel and Exhaust 120 07-12-2016 12:15 AM
W211 E320 CDi - Engine Oil Level Measurement, again! Razoo Engine, Drivetrain, Fuel and Exhaust 17 20-06-2015 07:57 PM
W204 - Check oil level when warm or cold? moj91 Engine, Drivetrain, Fuel and Exhaust 9 11-02-2015 01:49 PM
(W211) DIY Guide for Differential Oil Change Knightkiller Engine, Drivetrain, Fuel and Exhaust 0 22-03-2012 03:32 PM
Buying Oil, Some Basic Advice From Opie Oils oilman DIY: Engine, Drivetrain, Fuel and Exhaust 1 31-07-2009 02:55 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.