R230SL Front Ball Joint Repair

c270 cdi

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2003 Black SL500
Evening all,

I've had the dreaded front ball joint failure on the MOT, so when I finally stopped laughing down the phone at the cost of replacing the strut I thought I'd look at my options.
And, thanks to the brilliant info and advice on this forum I came across the thread about having the guy at 4wheelalignment in Liverpool do them for me. So I called him today and all sounds good - hopefully I can get a day off work next week and run them over to him, apart from (unless I got the wrong end of the stick somehow) he said the ball joint needs to be separated from the strut before he can do the repair. Have I got my lines crossed here, or can I separate it and if so do I need any special tools (I like to think I'm a pretty competent home mechanic - or pretengineer as my mate calls it - so I'm not daunted by doing the job).

Also, does anyone have the part number for the ball joint nuts, what torque do they need doing up to, and where's the best place to get fluid from for the post replacement top-up.

I'm going to call the guy back tomorrow just to check that what I think I heard is what he actually said, but I'd thought I'd just ask on here first.

Thanks.

star

Forum Supporter
Authorised Forum Supporter
Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Smart + others :)
We do that repair in situ. :) no need to remove strut.

LostKiwi

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
'93 500SL-32, '01 W210 Estate E240 (RIP), 02 R230 SL500, 04 Smart Roadster Coupe, 11 R350CDi
Depends if they're doing the resin injection method or they're replacing the balljoint.
No way to replace the ball joint without strut removal.

Pullman

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
1981 500SL_1999 500SL_(2002 CL600 sold) 2003 500SL
Evening all,

I've had the dreaded front ball joint failure on the MOT, so when I finally stopped laughing down the phone at the cost of replacing the strut I thought I'd look at my options.