Snow socks or chains for E350e

Timborelli

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
E350e/2018/hybrid
i got caught out (stuck) in snow last March, so keen to get some socks or chains for my car. My rear tyres are 275/35r19 any advice or suggestions?

Blobcat

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
R171 SLK280, Smart R451, Land Rover 110 County SW, 997 C2S, R1250 GSA TE 40th, CBR600FP
Where are you planning to drive?
Just in the UK you could go snow socks although I've no personal experience of them (I change to winter wheels and tyres) I know 2 people who used them and ripped off their brake pipes when the socks became entangled so it's not something I'd be looking at. Chains are a bit extreme for the UK and a PITA

keefysher

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
W166 GLE350AMG Line 3.0 2017. BMW Z3 2.8 1998.
KÖNIG K-SUMMIT K44

Snow chains.

John Laidlaw

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Land Rover Discovery 4
Snow socks are a waste of space except in a very very temporary fashion.
As above if it’s UK, get some winters or all weathers
I just get winters for my existing rims, but some folk prefer a second set of wheels with winters on

Flyinspanner

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
CLK320-A209 (sold CL500 & W168)
Snow socks shred as soon as you hit tarmac, they are only of any (limited) use on snow.
Snow chains are more hard wearing.

L John

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
W204 C350 Petrol Elegance
Put winter tyres on it, get some gravel in bags and put it in the boot with a small folding shovel.
The weight helps with traction and can be used to spread if you still get stuck.

John Laidlaw, what size tyres do you use on the rear, same as the summer tyre size?
One of the reasons I like a wheel change in winter is I have narrower rims and tyres on the rear. Your rear tyres will be a lot wider than mine.

Blobcat

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
R171 SLK280, Smart R451, Land Rover 110 County SW, 997 C2S, R1250 GSA TE 40th, CBR600FP

John Laidlaw

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Land Rover Discovery 4