Corrosion advisory on Mot on car I am hoping to buy!

NickyZ

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
280slk
Hello again, new newbie here having introduced myself at the weekend.

I put a deposit on an slk280 with really low miles and owners. Couldn't get to see it as we were going away the next day but the dealer sent me pics, the history is amazing as is the spec....nav, harman kardon, amg kit from new, every option. £10k worth.

9 mercedes stamps in the book. Did the mot history and all good throughout it's life, last mot had an advisory for 2 perished tyres due to age but these had been replaced. All looked good and the dealer has brilliant feedback, car came from a Mercedes dealer too so it all sounded good with just 2 owners from new.

Although the car had an mot in January I asked for a new one which they were pleased to do and it went to an independent garage. I was a bit shocked to see and advisory for surface corrosion underneath and on suspension components?! This has never been mentioned before on any test.

I know these can have rust issues and I asked about that but they said every car will have corrosion of that age. I have read most of the posts on here, although some of the pics of the rust on subframes aren't showing so I can't see what to look for.

Now I am worried as I am going to see the car tomorrow which has now been serviced and MOT'd. I suppose the worst case is to just walk away if it is bad underneath and lose my deposit. Am I worrying too much or should I air on the side of caution? It's not normally something I would do but the car just looked and ticked all the boxes and these are selling so quickly now....

BillyBoy

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
W213 E400d All Terrain
TBH, In my experience, most MOT testers seem to have their "favourite thing" to pick up on. I could be that this one's is surface rust. You might take it to a different test station and not get a mention, as has been the case with the previous MOTs