Charging battery - in-situ?

jarvis

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
A250 (2016)
I have a 2016 A Class. Nowadays it's used much less often and then it tends to be for short journeys. The start-stop (which I know is a sensitive beast) rarely works and this tells me the battery probably isn't getting the necessary charge.

Is there a type of charger I can buy which I could use without disconnecting the battery? I would much rather this and don't want any bother with any resulting issues that might bring.

Any help appreciated as I can imagine the battery letting me down at some point in the future.

MalcQV

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Mercedes CLA200
I use these on my BMW and Ferrari. I've been using these since 2004 and if you buy a Carcoon it comes with one.
https://www.optimate.co.uk/

However CTEK as mentioned above are another I would recommend. I believe Ferrari branded conditioners are CTEK.

I did for a while use a cheaper Maypole conditioner which eventually gave up the ghost. Fortunately no problems occurred but as such I would not suggest a cheaper brand personally.

OP
J

jarvis

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
A250 (2016)
Thanks - these look slightly cheaper so will read more. I definitely want to go on recommendation as Amazon, for example, has loads but not from brands I've heard of and I'm terrified I'd fry the car.

Blobcat

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
R171 SLK280, Smart R451, Land Rover 110 County SW, 997 C2S, R1250 GSA TE 40th, CBR600FP
I use optimates on the bike and Landy and they keep them in perfect condition

OP
J

jarvis

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
A250 (2016)
Thanks.
I just noticed that MB OEM chargers are CTEK so that's another tick for them.

rorywquin

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
An old B-Class.
^+1 for CTEK 5, been using CTEK for years without any problems. Better to buy an acid glass mat compatible charger nowadays

"Absorbent Glass Mat".