New here and need a little help ;-)

Tommyt2

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
w210 e320 cdi avantgarde
Hi guys been looking at the forums alot and decided to join up eventually ;-) my 2000 e320 cdi has the stupid squeaky steering issue that people talk about on alot of w210's. i have tried the rubber boot in the firewall and its not that its heavily greased by last owner and now me. i have replaced the power steering oil and that didnt work. although i do notice some oil residue around the oil filler cap? anyway i put the car on my lift and moved the wheels over and back and isolated the noise to the shaft that connects the rack to the steering column.i wedged a flat screwdriver under the plastic cover on the shaft of the rack and squirted wd 40 in there and the noise was gone for a few days. so my question is what was under the cap? a seal an o ring ? i am a mechanic so i would take out the rack or follow instruction to fix this. thanks for your help Tom

JEZ.S320L

Reaction score
Website
www.latorreonline.es
Your Mercedes
Lincoln Navigator and a S320L Business Edition
Hi guys been looking at the forums alot and decided to join up eventually ;-) my 2000 e320 cdi has the stupid squeaky steering issue that people talk about on alot of w210's. i have tried the rubber boot in the firewall and its not that its heavily greased by last owner and now me. i have replaced the power steering oil and that didnt work. although i do notice some oil residue around the oil filler cap? anyway i put the car on my lift and moved the wheels over and back and isolated the noise to the shaft that connects the rack to the steering column.i wedged a flat screwdriver under the plastic cover on the shaft of the rack and squirted wd 40 in there and the noise was gone for a few days. so my question is what was under the cap? a seal an o ring ? i am a mechanic so i would take out the rack or follow instruction to fix this. thanks for your help Tom