Speed before change?

1-star

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
1975 W114 2.8 Auto
Hi, I've now got my 75 2.8 Auto 250 running well, but (being an absolute newbie in the world of Mercedes) I was wondering about the speed that the change from 2nd to 3rd should take place?

It appears that I was almost up to 70(!) before a change came in...is this normal? I am aware that this question might fall on many factors but having owned a few autos in the past; most had changed into top well before that.

Can anyone throw any light on this?

Thanks.

EmilysDad

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
ML350
Hi, I've now got my 75 2.8 Auto 250 running well, but (being an absolute newbie in the world of Mercedes) I was wondering about the speed that the change from 2nd to 3rd should take place?

It appears that I was almost up to 70(!) before a change came in...is this normal? I am aware that this question might fall on many factors but having owned a few autos in the past; most had changed into top well before that.

Can anyone throw any light on this?

Thanks.

As with most/all auto's it depends on how hard you boot it as to when they'll change. Accelerate gently & I'm sure you'll get it to change up somewhat sooner (no idea how many gears your auto has :confused:)

alexanderfoti

MBO Forum Supporter
Authorised Forum Supporter
Reaction score
Your Mercedes
W221 S65 AMG - W204 C63 AMG + Various other MB's
My WIS documentation does not go back as far as the w114, but if its anything like the 124's it should have a cable that goes from the accelerator the brake pedal, that dictates how much and fast it changes gear (based in throttle position). I would check this is adjusted correctly.

rayhennig

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
1991 300CE-24 Sportline