Top Up Coolant Message

MINKYMERC

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2016 W213SE E Class 220d
Some advice please - if anyone can help - bearing in mind that I am not really technically minded and don't normally go poking around under the bonnet apart from topping up windscreen washer fluid.

Soon after starting my W212 E220CDi yesterday morning I got a message on the display to "Top Up Coolant". This went off after a few seconds and didn't come back even after restarting the car.

This is the first time this has happened in any Merc I have owned.

No signs of any leaks on the drive.

Should I top up the coolant or could there be a fault on the sensor?

Should I take the car into a dealership to be checked out - I don't want to drive the car if it might cause damage to do so.

If I need to top up the coolant, what make of antifreeze should I use and at what strength (dilution)?

Advice gratefully received and faithfully applied.

Minkymerc

EmilysDad

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
ML350
Some advice please - if anyone can help - bearing in mind that I am not really technically minded and don't normally go poking around under the bonnet apart from topping up windscreen washer fluid.

Soon after starting my W212 E220CDi yesterday morning I got a message on the display to "Top Up Coolant". This went off after a few seconds and didn't come back even after restarting the car.

This is the first time this has happened in any Merc I have owned.

No signs of any leaks on the drive.

Should I top up the coolant or could there be a fault on the sensor?

Should I take the car into a dealership to be checked out - I don't want to drive the car if it might cause damage to do so.

If I need to top up the coolant, what make of antifreeze should I use and at what strength (dilution)?

Advice gratefully received and faithfully applied.

Minkymerc