Renewing Taxc Online/Driving Without Displaying A Valid Disc

Developer

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
S212 E63 S 5.5 biturbo
I forgot to renew my tax at end December and did it online last night.

The general view (from the other side) was that I had to wait until the new disc arrived - all about not displaying a current licence.

Here's what happened when I rang the Police at Birmingham Central just now:

PC told me if I've renewed online and have a receipt I'm covered to use the car.
He explained that the failure to display offence was if I'd got a valid disc but it wasn't on show.

I queried the fact that I hadn't applied during the last days of the old disc and that it was now day 5 after, and that I'd been told that I couldn't drive the car until the new one arrived:

Here's what ensued (proper Road Wars stylee).

"What's your name sir" (I tell him John).

"Look John, that's a load of crap - I'm a serving police officer - and my colleague stood next to me is nodding in agreement, so that's two officers saying you're ok. You've done it online, so you're covered.

I'm PC xxx and here's my collar number if you're still worried.

You're covered son, have a nice new year son, bye son, bye"

Friendly us Brummies .

television

Always remembered RIP
Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2002 SL500, 216 CL500, all fully loaded
The failure to display would not be applied in your case, you can drive.

You cannot display what you do not have

You have paid, you can drive

amb67

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Mercedes-Benz C220 Coupe AMG, E320 CDI (S211), Aprilia RSVR
I don't see the need to display the discs now, the Police check central records for validity anyway.

daveyjp

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
B160 SE Blue Efficiency
I suspect the days of the bit of paper showing you have paid the tax are numbered.

EmilysDad

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
ML350