DIY - Seeking for Advice - Im on a mission to replace my brake disk and pads.

Jndom

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
A180 / 2013 / 1.5
Dear Merc Community,

As i mentioned in the title; I would like to replace my brake disk and pads on my own. I have no past experience on being a mechanic, but I'm confident that with the help of Google, YouTube and Our Forum Community. I will be able to figure it out and do it all.

Just a Little Back Story Of How I Selflearned In The Past.

About 9years Ago. I had no clue on how to building a computer and how its works. Did much reading, watch slot of youtube videos, google search again and again.

- I was able identify all basic components required.
- Ordered all my components from different website within UK and Overseas.
- I was able to put all the peaces together. Had few fails but it's ok, it's all part of learning process.
- I successfully built a powerful gaming computer from complete scratch.
- Learned different ways to modify both interior and exterior part of my pc.
- My gaming computer was later nominated as one of the best modified computer in www.overclock.net

So yeh! If I can do it building a gaming computer. Then surely, I'll also be able to figure out car upgrades.

My questions will follow..

OP
J

Jndom

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
A180 / 2013 / 1.5
First Question.

Car: A180 CDI - Manufactured on 2013.
Tire Size: 18inc

What is the exact size of the brake disk I should get?

Front: Size? Diameter?

Rear: Size? Diameter?

EmilysDad

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
ML350
Replacing discs & pads is easy enough, but so is brain surgery if you know what you're doing .... ;) The difference between brakes on a car & building a computer is that if you fcuk up the brakes you don't stop ... if you fcuk up your computer you just have a box of electrickery in front of you that does an impression of a door stop ;)

OP
J

Jndom

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
A180 / 2013 / 1.5