Mercedes SLK Cracked Sump

SL63 Mark

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
R231 SL63 AMG
He hasn't posted for a couple of years, he did not like Mercs much, as I recall.

star

Forum Supporter
Authorised Forum Supporter
Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Smart + others :)
I'm not a mechanic but I would presume that the natural wear of the engine over the years would cause sediment but I suppose only a professional mechanic could confirm that
Why do cars have sump plugs if the norm is sucking the oil out?
The plastic sump turns brittle with heat cycles and cracks when trying to remove the sump plus. Not something mb put into the equation when designing plastic parts.
There isn’t a merc with a magnetic sump plug but they put magnets in later gearboxes??

Last edited:

daibevan

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
W203 C200 Kompressor Elegance SE 2006 Tanzanite Blue with cream interior
My MKIII Cortina didn't have a magnetic sump plug ;)
That's because if it did there would be so much swarf stuck to the inside of it you wouldn't be able to get it out.:):)
Only joking??? I had every mark of Cortina, including the MKV (Sierra) The poor man's luxury car.

umblecumbuz

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
S204 and CLC 204 cdi, MX5, Kia Soul
Years ago we used to remove spark plugs frequently to clean them, lift cylinder heads to decoke and grind in the valves, and deal with a host of other items to keep our engines running well. Engines are far better built now, with more accurate tolerances and superior materials, and oils are superior also.

When a suction pump is used to drain engine oil, the engine has just been stopped. and the oil is drained hot.
Anything that might sink to the base of the sump pan over time will be in suspension and will be removed with the oil.

Not much point having a magnetic sump plug now - or even a sump plug.

Rory

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2005 C270CDi Avantgarde Estate. Bought 2005, sold 2022.