Help! Water spots!

Frosty149

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
W207 '63 E350 coupe amg sport
Ok, I’m a novice on the finer points of car detailing and surprise, surprise, I thought I’d give my BLACK E-class a quick rinse off and clean the wheels etc. Well the wheels look ok, but it was sunny and warm and the water spots look worse than the dirt did!
I’ve got a cheapie random orbital polisher and mild cutting stuff is this the way forward?

(Before I need a total respray!)

Blobcat

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
R171 SLK280, Smart R451, Land Rover 110 County SW, 997 C2S, R1250 GSA TE 40th, CBR600FP
I'd wash it again and dry it with a leather, alternatively a quick application of polish by hand and dust it off

Tony Dyson

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2014 C 220 CDI W204 OM 651
Ok, I’m a novice on the finer points of car detailing and surprise, surprise, I thought I’d give my BLACK E-class a quick rinse off and clean the wheels etc. Well the wheels look ok, but it was sunny and warm and the water spots look worse than the dirt did!
I’ve got a cheapie random orbital polisher and mild cutting stuff is this the way forward?

(Before I need a total respray!)
A hot topic for many on the forum and I would estimate this question is worth at least three pages... happy reading :)! my advice would be to set out your stall first and decide just how much in money and more importantly, time you wish or have to spend achieving the finish you desire, for what it's worth and if there were a competition for the best finished car on the forum, my vote would be for @RhodieBill and his methods as the finish he produces are second to none!

McDonald

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
SL500 2004
Wash the car again with car shampoo. Don't do it in the heat of the day, choose early morning or early evening. Dry it with microfibre cloths. For an easy finish use a quick detailer, doing one panel at a time. It goes on and polishes off so easily it won't feel like much work.