R230 SL steering wheel adjustment

neeklaus

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2002 SL55
The steering wheel on my SL will adjust up and down. But nothing happens if I move the lever towards or away from me. I am making the assumption if it can move up and down then the fuse is fine.

Anyone had a similar issue?

OP
neeklaus

neeklaus

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2002 SL55
Just wanted to bump this up in case anyone might have a potential fix. Again the wheel will move up and down but not towards or away from me.

Not a pressing issue under any circumstances but I am a tall driver and the wheel is just ever so slightly a little further away from me than I would ideally like!

LostKiwi

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
'93 500SL-32, '01 W210 Estate E240 (RIP), 02 R230 SL500, 04 Smart Roadster Coupe, 11 R350CDi
I seem to recall the motor can jam and that the fix was s healthy 'tap' on the wheel would free it but don't quote me on that!

OP
neeklaus

neeklaus

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2002 SL55
Thanks LK – I might give that a try this afternoon. Perhaps starting with a light tap and working my way up...

drmw

Reaction score
Website
www.autonomed.co.uk
Your Mercedes
M6 Cab - prior to that, SL63 AMG, A-M V8 Vantage, SL55, SL500 and many more
depending where the wheel is (in or out) grab hold of the wheel, push (or pull) the rim while pressing the button the appropriate way - it should then move. Keep the button pressed until it gets to the full extent, then push it the other way & see it all the way back

OP
neeklaus

neeklaus

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2002 SL55
depending where the wheel is (in or out) grab hold of the wheel, push (or pull) the rim while pressing the button the appropriate way - it should then move. Keep the button pressed until it gets to the full extent, then push it the other way & see it all the way back

thanks for the help guys, unfortunately no dice.