Question for M156 owners (potential newbie here)

dannyfiveforty

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
R230 SL500 2003
good morning, I have already done some extensive research all thanks to a youtuber highlighting design flaws to the M156 specifically the head bolts.

I am considering purchasing a CL this summer (I haven’t found the car yet) but these horror stories are putting me off. I have spoken to MSL in Birmingham (remapped my 350cdi) and they quoted £3,000 to replace the head bolts, they advised to not bother replacing them until one fails.

Trouble is, how will I tell if a potential car am viewing has a failed bolt/bolts? Is it a major concern or has it been hyped?

What are fellow M156 thoughts?

Thanks, Daniel

daveenty

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2019 AMG S Class Coupe
For every one which you hear about failing, there are many thousands which haven't and are still running fine.

There's no hard and fast rule to find out if they've been done or not, unless the owner is in possession of a genuine receipt. I would however be tempted to look at the M157 Bi Turbo, especially in a CL as it would suit it a lot better...

John Laidlaw

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Land Rover Discovery 4
As Daveenty says, loads never had an issue at all but engine numbers 60658 onwards should be clear
I’d also endorse the later Bi- Turbo, much more flexible and MSL will remap beautifully should you need a bit more power!:)

Rotorhead500

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Used to have a C63...
As above, with a CL, nice lazy bi-turbo torque available for superior waftage.

Failing that, and I don't know if it was ever an option on the CL M156, but if there was an AMG Performance Pack, then that had the SLS head bolts fitted anyway, so problem avoided!

Last edited:

alexanderfoti

MBO Forum Supporter
Authorised Forum Supporter
Reaction score
Your Mercedes
W221 S65 AMG - W204 C63 AMG + Various other MB's