Motorised reversing camera colossal cost

Newconvert

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
220d estate premium plus 2015
Hi, I am new to this but wonder if I can start a topic for discussion. The reversing camera on my 15 plate has just failed for the second time. Now I know running and maintaining a luxury car is expensive and I’m in for that but isn’t this just taking the mickey. Or in my ignorance is there something I’m unaware of that makes it totally justifiable for Mercedes to charge £498.98 for a part which only lasts a couple of years?

peterws1957

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
sl350 /2004/3.7 and CL65/2009/6.0
Hi, I am new to this but wonder if I can start a topic for discussion. The reversing camera on my 15 plate has just failed for the second time. Now I know running and maintaining a luxury car is expensive and I’m in for that but isn’t this just taking the mickey. Or in my ignorance is there something I’m unaware of that makes it totally justifiable for Mercedes to charge £498.98 for a part which only lasts a couple of years?

I'm sure MB's response would be that you're reversing too much:). I'd be taking it back and asking for a free replacement, but before installing a new one, check if there's not some other reason why 2 have failed in 5 years. Can't solely be down to poor cameras, surely?

OP
N

Newconvert

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Thank, you Peter. Well, I only bought it 6 weeks ago. Talked to the previous owner who told me about the first failure but the reason is unknown. The latest problem is down to the canbus cable becoming detached from within the camera. Still under 3 month RAC warranty and had a devil of a job getting them to accept claim but got there in the end. So they cover £500 but that will still leave me with £150 fitting Bill+ £80 original diagnostics.☹️ I still don’t get what makes this camera so expensive. (Would have been quite happy with a fixed camera for about 1/50th of the price!!

peterws1957

Reaction score
Your Mercedes