2002 W210 E320 CDI smoke problem

andy99

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2002 W210 E320 CDI
Hello everyone - newbie here so please be gentle...

Have found a nice rust-free W210 with my engine of choice - the 3.2 straight six - and all is lovely. I went for condition over mileage so we're in the 150k club. 7 seater to fit all the kids in. Nice.

However... sometimes it runs beautifully, pulling strongly. Sometimes it does this with a fair amount of black smoke on part throttle. Sometimes it goes into limp mode and won't go beyond 3000rpm or kickdown. In limp mode there's no smoke. No malfunction shows on the dash. Restarting the engine sorts it all out - for a while - sometimes a mile, sometimes lots. Economy is indicated on the dash as 38mpg on the tank, but filling up I calculated only 32mpg. :shock:

Coming from a pretty agricultural but amazingly reliable Audi A6 with the 5-cylinder 2.5 diesel, I am somewhat at a loss to identify parts, let alone which bit is faulty. I am handy with a set of spanners and a multimeter... I have read many threads here about MAFs and EGRs and the things that can go wrong - flaps and hoses and the like - so I wanted to ask a few questions or get some points clarified.

1 - I'm convinced the turbo is fine as the black smoke is not always present.
2 - Can things gum up with disuse or gentle treatment? The car was used by an old boy to pootle around in so he probably never went over 2500rpm.
3 - Are there any simple unplugging/resetting routines I could try?
4 - The actuator arm on the turbo moves around half an inch under power - is this about right?
5 - black smoke is usually a symptom of an air leak after the turbo - where are the usual leaks on this system?

I prefer to do the easy and cheap things first - any advice before I start replacing bits and pieces?

Thanks for reading this far - your assistance is much appreciated.

Cheers,
Andy

toby1

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
1998 CL420 C140; 1997 SL500 R129