ABS/BAS/ESP Stuck in park

thebeast7

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
E320 CDI, MKiii Supra, MKii Supra, Vtec Prelude & Lexus LS400
Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting, although i do use your archived info quite alot, and would appreciate your opinion on the following fault. My car is a year 2000, E320 CDi w210. While driving the fault 'display failure' came on the dash then ABS/ESP and BAS failure. The speedo, temp and rev counter went off but the car still ran. Pulled over and turned car off. Put into park and tried to start again but starter wouldn't fire, (dash lights did come on). Turned on off a few times and it finally started but now stuck in park and the reverse lights on permanently. Dash has no revs, speedo or temp and 3 malfunctions indicating display, abs/bas and esp failure. Moved shift selector to drive using solenoid bypass switch and drove home very slowly since only seemed to stay in 1st gear and the reverse lights were pemanently on.

Checked the two 10amp fuses on passenger side in engine bay as per archive postings but both were intact. Checked all other fuses and their ok. I haven't had a chance to replace the brake switch or get a diagnostic done on it yet but will do so in the next few days. I'm a mechanic with a fair knowledge of electrics (unfortuneately not MB electrics) so any pointers on where to start would be most appreciated.

Thanks

television

Always remembered RIP
Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2002 SL500, 216 CL500, all fully loaded

Frontstep

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
T210 320cdi
You might have two faults change switch it is easy, fuse check and clean ! I have had the dreaded three lights of doom changed the switch nothing, had the Star inconclusive ended up going back to basics and cleaning every earth connection it has been fine for about 8 approx months !
Oh and your battery check !

OP
T

thebeast7

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Excellent!