Blow By on C180k (LPG Convert)

embo99

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
C180k/2003/1.8 Petrol (W203)
Hi Everyone,

I recently got my Mercedes C180k 1.8 (w203) converted to run on LPG. After conversion, I was having a few problems, and whilst we were investigating, the LPG Fitter opened the Motor Oil filler cap, and there was fumes coming out along with a knocking noise.

Now I'm no mechanic, and he said to me this was engine blow by and that this was a very big thing, and that I should try shifting the car before it got worse, but the car only has 66,000 miles on the clock and has full service history.

I brought it to my regular mechanic and he had a look. He opened the dip stick whilst the engine was running, and told me if there was blow by this was the first place you would see it, and assured me there was no blow by and what I was seeing from the oil filler cap was normal.

I was wondering if anyone knows who I should be believing, and if possible, can anyone driving the same make/model mercedes take a quick video of theirs and post it for comparison. He says they are all like this.

I will record and post a video of the problem in question later once I get home from work, but just want to get some opinions, and anything you may need me to check to help diagnose.

Thank Everyone,

Ryan.

television

Always remembered RIP
Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2002 SL500, 216 CL500, all fully loaded
I simple compression test would prove the point for sure one way or the other.

The noise is the rocker gear and they all make a noise with the cap off.

At 66k piston trouble is almost unheard of these days

OP
E

embo99

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
C180k/2003/1.8 Petrol (W203)
Hi Television,

Thanks for the reply. Yeah my regular Mechanic Jeff suggested a compression test to put my mind at ease, but its just because I got two differing opinions, and was worried from watching other videos of blow by on different cars, but non of a car as young as mine.