Car Random orbital Polisher ???????????

tedfred

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2011 : SLK 200, AMG , R172 Eng' 271.861
Good Evening All,

The one in Halfrauds costs about £80 and there is a whole host of them with varying reviews on Amazon but does anyone have a favorite electric polisher?
Are they worth buying and can they produce such a superior finish that they justify their cost??

Any thoughts?

Regards as ever to all,

Tedfred

Chrishazle

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
S204 2008 C220CDI Elegance Estate Auto, 2008 R171 Facelift SLK280
If you want hours of fun about detailing, look on detailingworld.co.uk! For an easier view, look at sites like ultimatefinish.co.uk.

I bought a Kestrel DAS6 a few years ago, plus appropriate pads and paint correction fluid. it's a slippery slope of cost and effort, but the difference to my Guards Red 968 coupe was massive - and I was a total novice! Pre DA use preparation is key - wash well, decontaminate with Iron-X or similar, re-wash, Clay bar, re-wash, inspect, then decide how aggressive a paint correction fluid you need to try - but start light, maybe 2000 grit equivalent, and see the results before deciding how much further to go. Look at 3M Perfect-it products, they're very good and used by high end pro detailers (but not cheap!!).

Also, if it's your SLK you're thinking about, be aware that you're actually polishing the clearcoat, not the colour coat, and MB Ceramicoat clearcoat is very hard (look at the paint code on the sticker on the B piller drivers door side, if it starts C it's Ceramicoat).