CLK Interior Lights Problem

Ricciardo

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
CLK 200k coupe 2005 1.8 - 163hp
Hello,

I'm a noob here so excuse me if i am asking something already talked before.

Got a CLK coupe 200k from 2005 that started with a strange electrical problem. The interior lights dont work, even at night, as the sun roof and puddle lights.....

Tried to change the fuse went back to work for a moment but as soon as I turn on the knob for Auto lights I immediately get the same outcome with the difference that the sensor doesn't turn of the lights and the wipers also keep going.....

Went to a Mercedes garage they didn't find nothing wrong on the computer and said to me it was water on the sun roof mechanism, but I find that hard to believe the car sleeps inside and taking one particular night that froze, and i left it outside, I don't see how the water could have entered the mechanism.

Can I do any test to check where the problem is coming from?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Flyinspanner

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
CLK320-A209 (sold CL500 & W168)
Is the fuse for the lights actually blowing? - if yes then suspect a wiring fault, check each bulb holder for corrosion.

Are the wipers running all the time, - even with switch in OFF position? May be a switch fault.

Check all main earth points for corrosion, MBs don’t like low voltage, also check your battery.

Sunroof drains can block, so water could be an issue shorting out?

OP
R

Ricciardo

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
First of all thanks for taking your time and answer my question. I'll try to check what you suggest and will give you a feedback on this.

Answering your questions:

No, the fuse it's not actually blowing although it works for a couple of times and it stops,
The wipers stop when I turn off the Auto feature,
Can't see the drains from the sunroof because it also doesn't work when all of these things happen....