Diesel or petrol?

Alex240

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2010 E350 Agantgarde
Ok, I was sure this must have been discussed at some point and so I searched for a thread on it. If there is one already, I couldn't find it. If there is one that I missed could someone please direct me to it so this thread can be ignored or deleted.

I'm simply interested in the views people have on diesel & petrol engines. I'm not a mechanically minded person but I am interested in the reasoning behind people's choice to buy a vehicle with either a diesel or a petrol engine.

-Why do we even have these two different forms of fuel?
-What's the difference between the two?
-How do each of them affect vehicle performance & longevity?
-Why would you choose one over the other?

These are just a few questions on the subject that I'd really be interested in seeing discussed.

L John

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
W204 C350 Petrol Elegance
-Why do we even have these two different forms of fuel?
When crude oil is separated into its component parts, two of those parts are diesel and petrol, you cant make petrol by thinning the thicker diesel part.

-What's the difference between the two?
Diesel has more energy per gallon but burns slower.

-How do each of them affect vehicle performance & longevity?
Diesel is an oil so it lubricates as it's used but petrol engines last well without the need to re-bore these days. Diesels may still have the edge though.

-Why would you choose one over the other?
Diesel was very popular due to the extra energy per gallon and lower price than petrol. These days diesel is around the same price so the benefit is just on MPG, lower RPM and grunt. Diesel burns slow for great torque (pulling power). Petrol burns faster leading to higher RPM engines and can develop more HP but again diesels these days are well up there in the HP for the same CC engines, the diesel engine is still a heavier engine though so not as nimble.

Some info in the quote.

OP
Alex240

Alex240