Eco system fail

Tommo5482

New Registration
Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2011 c220d blue efficiency
Hi newbie here …. 2011 c220d .. eco system fail, light works on ignition but goes out few seconds later, no stop/start. Thought battery issue but no other symptoms. May be connection somewhere as system comes back to life if driven on very bumpy ground (happened twice now, off road car park and pothole ) but dies again on restart. Any ideas where to start please?!

Jasons76

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
W204 c220 cdi AMG sport estate
mine had a similar fault to yours where eco light would go out once car started and it was the main battery but mine never came back on over rough ground which does point to a connection issue but i would have thought you would have other problems as well. i would look at your auxilary battery and check the connections on that and the fuse holder next to it,there is a 7.5 amp fuse which operates the stop/start and if you remove the fuse you get the eco light appear on ignition but once started it goes out,removing the fuse permantley disables the stop/start so you might have a loose fuse or connection there. the auxilary battery is located in the boot.

Gazwould

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
C250 CDI
I saved 5 kg by removing my good original auxiliary battery and sold it for £30 .

Screenshot_20211207-084456_YouTube.jpg

20200923_182218.jpg

Also my main battery ( still original ) , engine mounts , starter motor , alternator and drive chain tensioner will now last longer .

Eco will not save you fuel , even if it did it will not offset the greater wear and tear of Stop Strain .

mioba

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
W124/E200, W220/S320CDI, W205/C200, W251/R350CDI 4Matic
Eco upsell is saving fuel, its plus is stopping exhaiust gas into air when not needed.