Engine Management Warning Light

fariesfarhan

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
E200 kompressor/2003/1.8L
Hi.

I got my engine management warning light on after a sudden vibration experienced by the engine. I called AA and I was asked to drive to the nearest garage and got it checked. It was found that the injector was coked up with unburned fuel. Two options were given, either to clean it using burn-off process or replace all the injectors with new ones which is expensive to me. I proceeded with the first option. My car went well on the road until today, the engine was vibrating excessively on idle. Power went down a bit and management warning light came on. Have any of you experienced this kind of problem? Help me please. I'm new with this. Thank you.

brandwooddixon

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
S63 Coupe 2014
I take it that this is a petrol engined car?

The injectors shouldn't really coke up, unless there are more issues here.

Have you removed and checked the spark plugs to see what is going on in the engine?

Quite common on some Kompressors for oil breathers to block, causing more oil to enter the inlet and be burned during the combustion cycle, than there should be. This will show itself as an orange/brown build up on the plugs.

As the injectors are in the inlet pathway, they'll get covered with any excess oil that passes.

Alex Crow

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
W169, W124, w202, W203, KTM 250 EXC, VW T25 camper and a Polo in a pear tree
Did the garage check for stored fault codes?
I would be surprised if it were an injector fault!
Far more common on this engine are valve sealing (and ignition coil) problems giving rise to missfiring - the symptom you describe.

OP
F

fariesfarhan

Reaction score
Your Mercedes