Help with brake caliper torque specs please?

Paulgeorge01

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Sprinter 311 CDI LWB extra high 01.12.2008 2148 cc OM646.
Hi All,

Newbie here, just joined the forum. Proud to have a Mercedes, although just a van :D.

I would greatly appreciate some information regarding the following questions. Any answers are a bonus as it all helps, thanks in advance for any replies.

Am heading off later today to pick up 2008 sprinter 311 2.1 CDI I have just bought. The van is presently not in a driveable state, I need to sort out the brakes. Work scope as follows. Ensure no sticky pistons (repair as necessary), new disks, pads, and wear sensors on all 4 corners - this all came with the van, displace complete system to fresh brake fluid - still need to purchase fluid.

Front and back floating caliper slide bolt torque please? I am guessing the same bolt size and thread pitch on both front and back.

Caliper carrier to bearing housing bolt torque please? I am guessing there may be a difference in bolt sizes between the front and rear calipers.

Is bleed sequence standard for UK vehicle with master cylinder on OSF i.e. NSR - OSR - NSF - OSF?

Brake fluid type please? What is the capacity of the brake system including the brake expansion tank? I was going to get 2 litres, would that be enough to give all 4 corners a good flush out?

Much appreciated,

Paul :)

DREAMER NO2

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
W124 2.6E M103 1989
Most answers that you need would be in an owners manual . The bleed sequence would be fine .Fluid for brakes would be on the filler cap .The quantity is about right 2 lites . But thats it for me .Pop in from time to time other owners will help you.

bembo449

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Mercedes Cl500, shitron dispatch
in 30 years of car machanics ive never took a torque wrench to brake calipers , just make sure they are tight and the sliders are free moving

OP
Paulgeorge01

Paulgeorge01

Reaction score
Your Mercedes