Hi everybody

Winky84

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
W108 (Maybe...)
Hello all, I am a complete newbie so please bear with me.

After having a bit of a thing for old Mercs for a long while, I sat in a stunning '68 W108 250SE at an auction preview evening last week, thinking "one day"

Then I saw what it sold for and thought "that's an awful lot of car for not a massive sum of money"

Then I fired up the quick loan calculator and thought "this might be doable"

So, my predicament is this.

I am so very tempted to see what Mr. bank manager is prepared to offer and go out hunting for a nice W108. But, there are several hurdles in my way...

Despite being in my late 20's, I have never owned a car.

I have extremely limited knowledge on how to fix cars. I can change wheels, replace a battery, put fuel in them and hoover the mats. That's more or less it. On the plus side, I have a brother that is an extremely competent mechanic and I am willing to learn.

The car would not have anywhere dry to live. It would be outside in a car park, mostly under trees.

Whilst I should be able to afford the initial purchase, insurance, fuel and MOT test etc, My funds are not entirely limitless.

I have spoken to quite a few people on the subject with varying opinions.
Mechanic brother says no.
Friends say yes.
Customer who is into classic cars says I'll be flat broke but won't be able to stop smiling about it.

So, there is my situation.

Do I sack the idea? Do I go for it? What to do...

I accept that it is extremely unlikely that I will buy one and I'll never have problems with it, but I could buy a modern car and have grief.

I accept that it's probably not the best way to start owning cars, but sometimes the best way to learn to swim is to jump in the deep end...

I am at the stage where my heart is shouting "YESSS", but my head is calling me rude names.

Any help, advice, information, discouragement, abuse that you are prepared to offer is most welcome.

Many thanks,

Phil

Mic