Mercedes Fire Opal paint issue

Sam Bennett

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2014 Mercedes C Class
Hi all,

I’m new to this and only recently bought my Mercedes c class 6 months ago. Basically the the clear coat has started peeling off in three different areas of the car and there seems to be microblistering in all the panels aswell. I’ve done some research and it seems to be a common problem with this type of color, there’s even been lawsuits against Mercedes about it.

I took it to the dealership yesterday and the guy basically said that because I’ve bought it from a private seller, Ive basically bought it with the paint defect from that seller (if that makes sense)? But it’s still running the original paint so I don’t understand why that would be an issue. It’s a 2014 model with FMSH and 1 previous owner. Has anyone else had this problem or know how to go about it?

Cheers
Sam

CowleyStJames

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Mercedes-Benz E63s, Old knackered G wagon
It'd be interesting to find someone with a paint depth gauge and measure the paint thickness across all panels on the vehicle.
If they're all uniformly low, then it's probably factory paint.
If however, there's variances across the panels then it's had paintwork.
Did the previous owner mention accident damage, paint work?
I can understand what Mercedes are saying, but if it's factory paint I would say you have a good case
If you're close to North Wales I have a paint depth gauge and don't mind measuring the paint thickness on the panels

OP
S

Sam Bennett

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2014 Mercedes C Class