Mercedes ML270 - Brake problem

Manx Man

New Registration
Reaction score
Your Mercedes
ml/2002/2.7
I have a Mercedes ML270 2002. I have just had new pads fitted all round and new brake discs on the front by the local garage. For some reason, since they have been changed, the front brakes only are sticking on. The garage itself says they are not sure what it could be but they assure me that its not a problem with the fitting of the brake pads. They think it might be the brake servo. I used to be a mechanic a long time ago, and cannot understand it myself. Can anyone shed any light? If it is the servo, does anyone have one? Thanks in advance for your help. Neil

ernieh

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Audi Q2 Sport, 2022, 1.5 Petrol
If the brakes were not sticking on before the pads and discs were changed, they shouldn't be sticking on now! Like yourself, I would have thought it unlikely that the servo was at fault.

However, if they pushed the caliper pistons back without releasing the bleed nipples, it is possible that one of the seals on the master cylinder has been damaged due to the fluid being forced in the reverse direction. Just a suggestion as it happened to me in a previous life.......If releasing a bleed nipple now releases the brakes, then this is the problem.

Another possibility that comes to mind is if they used non-oe parts, the clearances might just be a bit tighter, in which case they should ease off in time. It really depends how bad the problem is.

Ernie

knowlep

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
ML270CDI W163 2000
Sticking front brake

Hi,
Did you ever solve this problem as I have a NSF caliper that sticks intermittently but not through fluid pressure as if I remove the wheel I can quite easily move the piston back using a flat blade screwdriver with the caliper and pads all still in place.
It's really odd as the other 3 brakes don't stick.
Paul

knowlep

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
ML270CDI W163 2000
Sticking brakes after pad change ML270 Cdi