No towing with a 2016 E220 AMG Estate?

k127

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2016 E220 AMG
Hi,

Newbie here..

I took possession of a 2016 E220 AMG Night (last in the model line) last month under a business lease. Had a retro-fitted tow bar on our 2013 220 (with permission) and mentioned to the salesman we were going to put it on the new vehicle, no problem he said. All fine until we took it to Macsalvors (who also do all work for the local dealer) to get it fitted to the new one the day after collection. VIN plate says it has no towing allowance, and therefore legally they cannot fit the bar.

Merc told them to go ahead because the book says it can tow. Macsalvors have refused because they HAVE to refer to the VIN plate regardless of what the book says.

Four weeks later Merc are still arguing and we still don't have a vehicle that can tow, with a business event taking place this weekend when we need to tow a trailer. The manual gives a towing weight. All online resources state the 220 AMG Estate can tow. But legally you can't get a tow bar fitted without the VIN plate showing a towing weight according to Macsalvors.

Dealer has suggested we just to take it to someone who won't check the plate, but are not prepared to take responsibility should anything happen (unsurprisingly)!

Has anyone else come across this or experienced similar problems? Given that the E Class Estate is meant to be one of the best towing cars in the world its laughable that the 2016 model can't have a tow bar fitted! I'm aware there are a couple of Saloons versions that can't tow, nor can the 300 AMG Estate, but our model should be able to.

TIA for any responses...

Naraic

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2005 CL500.
Usually just the proper AMGs that have not been type approved for towing...this must be a mistake for yours.

OP
K

k127

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2016 E220 AMG