replacing rear suspension spheres

farook

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
mercedes e200 w124 1995
I am new to this site, literally 10mins into it now. Can someone help please? My e200 w124 1995 has increasing become very bouncy.Its almost like a kangaroo. Now, I am not a mechanic, but I am an above average diyer. I have established that the rear suspension spheres need replacing. I have located where all the parts are. Looking from underneath, each sphere is connected to two hoses/pipes. One of these must be low pressure, and it would be easy to undo with a spanner. The other pipe must be the high pressure side, and is totally corroded. Every weekend I attempt to undo it with a hex attachment, but give up quickly. If somebody has replaced these spheres, Can you please tell me how to proceed. If this has to be cut, I need to know where to it from, and can I buy this section of this hose.

dieselman

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
A diesel
Buy new spheres and pipes as they are very likely to shear off when attempting to undo them.

balge59

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
1993 190E 2.0 Automatic
hi
did the spheres on my '88 230TE, similar situation, I know very little about cars but it was a straight forward job - order new lines as a matter of course, the hassle refitting used ones isn't worth it, (especially with corroded ones) new ones are cheap enough as I recall
Check your new spheres mounting studs, some are not threaded all the way down and need a a washer under them to fill the gap and prevent stripping!
I only had a Haynes (and not this excellent forum !)when I did mine but it was easy enough as long as the car is well propped and high enough for elbow room!

cheers!

tjamesbo

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
1999 CLK430, 2007 VITO 3.0V6 , W124's (1994 320TE , 1993 220TE ) , 07 2.5 X-Type