Shipping a car battery

bob 6600

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Audi S8 V10, S210 E320 CDI (R.I.P.)
Does any one know of a courier that will ship a car battery within the UK? Need to send a Tayna battery back under warranty but they do not arrange any shipping for returns. Any help appreciated, thanks

Kev555

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2011 vito 113 CDI OM651 W639 panel van
I see your problem Bob, probably a lot of companies if not all wont handle them as they are classed as explosive or corrosive items which pose a threat to employees

OP
bob 6600

bob 6600

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Yes it's mad because these couriers obviously ship them out in the first place! Nuts.

Kev555

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Probably might still come in dry in licensed containers Bob but once acid goes in them they are classed different. I remember filling new batteries with acid when I was a young trainee in an garage over the summer. Not sure how new batteries are supplied new now?

Last edited:

Kev555

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Where did you buy your battery?

Kev555

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Seems a bit ironic that you can buy them from E-Bay shipped to your door filled with acid but cant send them back. double standards for couriers or guys on E-Bay aren't telling couriers the truth? maybe time for you to bend the truth?

Kev555

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Pulled this from a seller advertising on E-bay using royal mail as delivery.
"PLEASE BE ADVISED UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES ARE BATTERIES TO BE RETURNED VIA ROYAL MAIL, THEY ARE PROHIBITED AND SHALL BE DISPOSED OF BY THEM. IF NECESSARY WE ARE ABLE TO ASSIST WITH COLLECTIONS WITHIN 30 DAYS OF PURCHASE IF REQUIRED VIA COURIERS WHOM ACCEPT BATTERIES".
They must know some courier that collects?

OP
bob 6600

bob 6600

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
It's a family member's car battery and I'm not sure exactly where he bought it from - will ask (only bought in January).