Small rust spots......how do i fix them?

chris1200

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
W204
Hi folks
My 95 c220 has a few little rust marks. None bigger than a 10p coin I suppose. I'd like to sort them before the winter makes them even worse. I'm not experienced with this kind of task but I do have patience on my side!!!

My immediate idea is to chip off the surface rust, use something like a dremmel thingy to remove any rust underneath, put on some primer, then put on the paint with a small brush........

.....but I'm hopeful someone here will be able to tell me how it REALLY SHOULD be done!!!

Any thanks you can give me would be greatly appreciated.

Regards
Chris

Xtractorfan

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
S class
Would suggest that scrape away the flaky rust n paint, then use the dremel to gently grind away the rust...finish off with the wire brush..either drill or dremel powered to get rid of all the little rust spores that are in the pit marks...you could use a magnifying glass to check that all the rust is gone... when the rusty areas are clean. wipe the area with cellulose thinners and dry off....
Now if you so wish you can use a rust inhibitor, but I personally dont have much faith in them... Some people on here have mentioned a product called POR15 and it seems to have a good reputation for keeping rust at bay...
Next i suggest you treat the bare metal area with an acid etch primer...ACID 8.. is a good one, from your local motor factor..you can sparay or brush.. now let it dry ..heat helps. hair dryer , heat gun etc.. now use a filler or stopper to fill out the pitt marks, sand this down with a block and some 400 sandpaper.. ...for rust spots you wont have acres of filler to rub so 400 will work fine.. ..
Now when you are happy with the finish..dry off and rub your fingers across the area and feel if it is flat and level.. if not fill again and block it in again..